What is she doing now? 2002 graduate Maggie Shi

I just had a party with friends, to celebrate our having been in Christchurch for 9 years, and here I am, typing my own Christchurch story.

 If I am going to talk about my experience in Christchurch, I would like to start it at my very first language school: Canterbury Language College.

I have so many happy memories of this school. There are three little stories I would like to share with you.

 This school’s high education quality can be proved by students high English scores, but today, I would like to talk about some fun days I had ……Almost every Friday, the school organised interesting activities for students, such as the “Zoo Day”, when we went to the zoo with our teachers.

Even now, I still can hear the laugh I had with my classmates and my teacher’s daughter in the zoo; we had soooooo much fun when we were feeding those piglets!

The second story I would like to tell you is about the “Truly Terrible” attendance system at Canterbury Language College. As many teenagers do, I attempted to escape from my English class by claiming sickness. Unfortunately, because of their Truly Terrible system, I was only able to get away with it once, and then I had to give up my naughty plan. Why? Because the receptionist asked my homestay to call the school to prove my “sickness.” Do you still want to know the gory details? Of course, my homestay would not help me out with my tall story, so I had to go back to school, and I never tried to escape again. And in the end, I had no regrets, because  soon I gained a really good result – I passed my English test and got my Offer from the University of Canterbury.

Did you know:

There are more than 180 species of pigs, found on every continent except Antarctica. They come in just about any size and color, have an average lifespan of 20 years and litters from 2 to 12 piglets.

The pig is rated the fourth most intelligent animal.

Pigs actually keep themselves cleaner than most pets. They are seen lying In the old days, sea captains kept pigs on board because they believed, should they be shipwrecked, pigs always swam toward the nearest shore.

Leave a Reply

