Meet Mignon, NZDipBus student from South Africa

 

Mignon Oliver

Meet Mignon - New Biz student from South Africa

Nearly all of us have dreams, but only a few try to implement their dreams. Meet Mignon Olivier who has recently started her journey towards her career as an entrepreneur.

She is our first student from South Africa (see this post for a list of nationalities at the College), though Mignon has lived in various countries in her life. It is remarkable that she has chosen New Zealand to get her qualification in Business. We asked Mignon about her background and plans for the future:

“I was born in South Africa but grew up mostly in the United States of America. I’ve spent 5 years in China, 2 years in Canada, 6 months in the Caribbean, 8 months in England, 4 months in Cyprus, and 4 years in the Netherlands. I’ve lived all over the world and I believe my vast firsthand knowledge of different cultures is greatly in my favor when working with people from diverse cultures. I plan to combine this with the business knowledge I will gain from all the courses I’ll be taking at Canterbury College.
I plan on becoming an entrepreneur. My dream is to have a chain of restaurants starting here in New Zealand and eventually expanding to every 1st world country on the planet. Cafe Mignon will be a chain of modern, moderate, and tasteful eateries worldwide that adapts to each country while maintaining a uniform company image. I will take into account different cultures, not only in regard to customers but in regard to my staff as well. Once my first establishment starts generating significant profit, I will begin studying towards my MBA.
I am so excited to begin my studies at Canterbury College and start working towards my dream!
Quote: Nee heb je, ja kun je krijgen (you’ve already got a ‘no’ but you can get a ‘yes’) i.e. it can’t hurt to ask!”

By the way the New Zealand Diploma in Business is an internationally recognised qualifications that provides students with a broad range of general business skills and knowledge. It will suit anyone who is interested in business and wishes to quick-start his or her study, as it is widely recognised by universities and institutes.

If you are interested in this course, hurry, as the first classes start on 28 of February! The course schedule for this year is:

28 February – 9 April Accounting Principles
11 April – 28 May Economic Environment
30 May – 9 July Business Communication
25 July – 9 September Introduction to Commercial Law
12 September – 29 October Business Computing
31 October – 9 December Organisation and Management

For more information download the course brochure

17 responses to “Meet Mignon, NZDipBus student from South Africa

  1. Great to hear that you are back in the saddle and excellent idea.. Will forward to some of the teachers here and also in SA. Good luck and VERY VERY best wishes for the New Year (Chinese here!!!!).

    From Debbie and Attie in China

  2. I am so excited for you! Here’s to great new adventures and making every moment count. I am so proud of you Mignon! Congratulations darling! And remember this… Shoot for the Moon with all of your heart, and if you miss, You will already be amongst the stars.
    ~ Titia xoxox
    PS.. Please remember Mcminnville will be a great spot for a Cafe Mignon. Remember this for later okay? Lol ~I Love you so much.

  3. Hi Mignon,
    I’m so excited for you . Following your dream that you always talk to me about it’s just great.
    Everything takes time and this is your season sweetie.
    You can do it and I encourage you no matter the heaviest of the classes I know that you can handle it as you always handle everything here well.
    I’ll be praying for you take care and keep in touch.

  4. Awesome!! My husband and I are in the restaurant biz too. Maybe some day our paths will cross again miss you and wish you all the best!
    xoxo

  5. I am so happy for you that you get what you want~ and i know more about you by your introduction. Good luck with everything!

  6. Dear Mignon, I am so happy for you. You deserve all the best you pursue. I am hoping ‘Cafe Mignon’ will come to China soon and I will be the first volunteer at that time. I promise! ^_^
    Love you always!
    Evelyn

  7. Good luck, Mignon. It is encouraging that in spite of the many obstacles you have to face in your life you are still with firm determination to follow your dreams. I will be rooting for you and your success.

  8. Hey Mignon I am so proud of you and glad you got this opportunity at Canterbury College this is exactly what you want. It suits you perfectly and I know you will succeed in reaching your goals. Your dream will come true I know that. Because once you have something in you head you will go for it a 100%.
    love you.

    Michael

  9. Thank you, everybody for all your wonderful comments! I love each and every one of you for supporting from all around the world! I wish all of you the best in all of your ventures as well. Once again, thank you. I can’t say it enough

  10. I am so happy for you. Stick to you goal and you will succeed. Wish you all the best! by the way, will you visit us again in China someday?

  11. So congratulations is in order ! you are a student again, ha ha Canturbury University, soon to be a business woman, Wow, Lookout World of Business !

Leave a Reply

